Academic Workshops

Need help with library skills? Attend one of these workshops.

grad11-copy

MiraCosta Library Welcome & Tour

  • Wednesday, Feb. 1, from 12 – 12:30 p.m.  OC1201
  • Wednesday, Feb. 1, from 12 – 12:30 p.m. SAN107
  • Thursday, Feb. 2, from 11 – 11:30 a.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, Feb. 2, from 2 – 2:30 p.m. SAN107

Finding Scholarly Articles

  • Wednesday, Feb. 15 from 11 – 11:30 a.m. OC1201
  • Wednesday, Feb. 15 from 12:30 – 1 p.m. SAN107
  • Thursday, March 9 from 1 – 1:30 p.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, March 9 from 1:30 – 2 p.m. SAN107
  • Thursday, April 6 from 11:30 – 12 p.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, April 6 from 1:30 – 2 p.m. SAN107

 

Citing in APA Style
Presenters: MiraCosta Librarians
Come meet a MiraCosta Faculty Librarian and get a quick introduction to APA Style! You’ll learn about in-text citations as well as how to make a References page.

  • Thursday, March 2, from 12 – 12:30 p.m. OC1201
  • Wednesday, March 1, from 12 – 12:30 p.m. SAN107
  • Wednesday, April 12, from 1 – 1:30 p.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, April 13, from 1:30 – 2 p.m. SAN107

 

The New MLA 8 Style
Presenters: MiraCosta Librarians
Come meet a MiraCosta Faculty Librarian and get a quick introduction to the new MLA Style (8th Edition)! You’ll learn about in-text citations as well as how to make a Works Cited page.

  • Thursday, Feb. 16, from 1 – 1:30 p.m. OC1201
  • Tuesday, Feb. 14, from 1 – 1:30 p.m. SAN107
  • Wednesday, March 1, from 1 – 1:30 p.m. OC1201
  • Tuesday, March 14, from 12:30 – 1 p.m. OC1201
  • Wednesday, March 15, from 1 – 1:30 p.m. SAN107
  • Wednesday, April 12, from 12:30 – 1 p.m. OC1201

Books & eBooks

  • Wednesday, Feb. 22, from 1 – 1:30 OC1201
  • Thursday, Feb. 23, from 1:30 – 2 p.m. SAN107

Need help with a specific student success skill? Attend one of these workshops.

Take Note: Note taking skills for better grades

Topics include: Cornell Notes, outlines, mapping, visual aids, symbols, and abbreviations.

  • Tuesday, Jan. 31, from 12 – 1 p.m. OC1202

Overcoming Math Anxiety 

Friday, Feb. 10, from 9:30 – 11:30 a.m. OC3205

Time Management 

Thursday, Feb. 16, from 11 – 12:30 p.m. OC1202

Oral Presentations
Developing, designing, and delivering one’s course work out loud and in front of your fellow students.

  • Thursday, February 23 from 2- 3 p.m. OC3400 Aztlan A
  • Wednesday, February 22 from 12 – 1 p.m. SAN Student Center Conference Room

Minimize Stress, Calm Your Senses, Focus on Success Presenter: Edward Pohlert

  • Wednesday, March 15, from 11 – 12 p.m. OC1202
  • Tuesday, May 2,  12 – 1 p.m.  OC1202

Yoga on the Green

  • Wednesday, Feb. 1,  12:15 – 12:45 p.m. SAN Elijo Library Lawn
  • Thursday, Feb.2, 11 – 11:30 a.m. OC Clock Tower Lawn
  • Wednesday, March 1,  12:15 – 12:45 p.m. SAN Elijo Library Lawn
  • Thursday, March 2, 11 – 11:30 a.m. OC Clock Tower Lawn
  • Wednesday, April 6,  12:15 – 12:45 p.m. SAN Elijo Library Lawn
  • Thursday, April 6,  11 – 11:30 OC Clock Tower Lawn
  • Wednesday, May 3,  12:15 – 12:45 p.m. SAN Elijo Library Lawn
  • Thursday, May 4,  11 – 11:30 a.m. OC Clock Tower Lawn

Need help with skills for an online class, online platform or specific computer program? Attend one of these workshops.

Student Orientation to Online Learning for BlackBoard

  • Tuesday, Jan. 24, from 2 – 3 p.m. OC120
  • Wednesday, Jan. 25, from 4 – 5 p.m. ONLINE
  • Thursday, Jan. 26, from 3 – 4 p.m. SAN107
  • Monday, Jan. 30, from 12 – 1 p.m. ONLINE
  • Wednesday, Feb. 1, from 4 – 5 p.m. SAN107
  • Thursday, Feb. 2, from 1 – 2 p.m. OC 1201
  • Wednesday, Feb. 8, from 1 – 2 p.m. ONLINE
  • Tuesday, March 28, from 12 – 1 p.m. ONLINE
  • Wednesday, March 29, from 5 – 6 p.m. ONLINE

Student Orientation to Online Learning for Canvas

  • Wednesday, January 25, from 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. OC1201
  • Wednesday, February 1, from 9 – 10 a.m. Online
  • Monday, February 6, from 12 – 1 p.m. OC1201

SURF

  • Wednesday, January 25, from 12 – 1 p.m. OC1201
  • Wednesday, February 1, from 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. SAN107

BlackBoard
How do I submit a document through BlackBoard? What is a Discussion Board? Where are all my assignments? Get answers to these questions and more!

  • Tuesday, Jan. 24, from 12 – 1 p.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, Jan. 26, from 1 – 2 p.m. SAN107
  • Tuesday, Jan. y 31from 5 – 6 p.m. CLC133
  • Thursday, February 2 from 12 – 1 p.m. OC1201

Canvas
Presenter: Jesse Leon
Canvas, MiraCosta’s new online system that will be replacing both Moodle and Blackboard in the near future, find out what this new online system is all about!

  • Tuesday, Jan. 24, 1 – 2 p.m. OC1201
  • Thursday, Jan. 26, 2 – 3 p.m. SAN107
  • Thursday, Feb. 2, 5 – 6 p.m. CLC133

Strike Read and Write Gold

Tired of reading your textbook?  Ever wanted to have your textbook read out loud to you?  Come learn how this program can do just that.

  • Thursday, Feb. 9,  11 – 12 p.m. OC 1201

Word Up: Intro to Microsoft Word Tools

Quickly make your paper professional looking using the tools and features in Word. Topics include: creating a table of contents, works cited page, and cover page, formatting text and margins, and using charts, pictures and other visuals.

  • Monday, Feb. 13,  11:30 – 12:30 p.m OC1201

On Point: Presentations with Microsoft PowerPoint

Keep your audience interested with effective PowerPoint presentation features and tools! Topics include: slide creation and formatting, adding visuals like charts, pictures and videos and professional design planning.

  • Wednesday, March 8,  12 – 1 p.m. OC1201

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s